Alan Jackson, Darius Rucker and Sam Hunt are among those set to receive special awards from the Academy of Country Music during the organization's annual ACM Honors, taking place at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on August 22nd.

Alan will be presented with the Cliffie Stone Icon award, which is given to individuals, duos, groups, or industry leaders who have advanced the popularity of the genre through their contributions to songwriting, recording, production, touring, film, television, literary works, philanthropic contributions, and other goodwill efforts.

The Gary Haber Lifting Lives Award will be presented to Darius for his devotion to improving the lives of others through the power of music, generosity of spirit, and a commitment to serving others.

Sam will take home the Gene Weed Milestone award which honors a “specific, unprecedented, or outstanding achievement in the field of Country music during the preceding calendar year.”

The Merle Haggard Spirit Award will be given to Dierks Bentley for continuing the legacy of the late Country legend by following his or her own path, crafting great songs, and epitomizing Merle's spirit through genuine performances and great storytelling.

The Songwriter of the Year Award will be presented to previously-announced winner Rhett Akins, marking his first-ever win in this category.

Submit a Comment