George Strait will receive the 2018 “Texan of the Year” award in New Braunfels today (Thursday, March 22nd). The honor is given by the Texas Legislative Conference. Past honorees include Presidents, U.S. Senators, Congressmen, and Governors, to name a few. Conference Chair and former Texas State Representative Doug Miller said, “No one has done more than George Strait to raise awareness and funds for the Hurricane Harvey relief efforts. He put his well-earned reputation on the line and asked not only his fellow Texans to step up, but all Americans. And they have.” So far, George has helped to raise more than $50 million for Hurricane Harvey victims.

The 12th annual ACM Honors will take place at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on August 22nd. Additional details, including this year’s winners, host, performers and event details will be announced at a later date.

Submit a Comment