Florida Georgia Line's Tyler Hubbard, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett are among the recipients of the 10th annual CMA Triple Play Awards, an honor presented to songwriters who pen three Number One songs within a 12-month period based on the Country Aircheck, Billboard Country Airplay and Billboard Hot Country Songs charts.

Obviously FGL has a knack for charting hits, but it's their songwriting that Tyler and Brian Kelley are truly passionate about. They hope that ultimately their songwriting will be as much a part of their musical legacy as their music, if not more so. Tyler explains: [“Truly, it feels like every other year, I feel like the legacy may change.  I don’t really know. I’m just really enjoying being in the space right now of creativity. We love it. That’s our passion and so it’s hard when we take a day off, what do you do? What you’re passionate about. We look up to a lot of songwriters in Nashville that have an amazing story, an amazing legacy and I think that’s what we moved here for.  So I think FGL will be part of that, but I think we both hope and want the songwriting to be just as big or bigger.”] SOUNDCUE (:26 OC: . . . big or bigger.)

The other seven writers also receiving the prestigious honor are Jesse Frasure, Nicolle Galyon, Ashley Gorley, Josh Kear, Shane McAnally, Chase McGill, and Josh Osborne.

Nicolle Galyon will host a special CMA Songwriters Series Presented by U.S. Bank performance feauring Luke Combs, Ashely Gorley, Josh Kear, Chase McGill and Josh Osborne. The event takes place on Tuesday, February 19th at Marathon Music Works in Nashville. In celebration of the Triple Play Awards, $3 of each ticket sold will benefit the CMA Foundation, CMA’s philanthropic arm, which is committed to improving and sustaining high quality music education programs across the country.

Submit a Comment